Bookmark and Share
 RUSSELLVILLE, Ark. – The Great American Conference announced the league’s football awards for second week of the 2019 season. Henderson State’s Richard Stammetti captured the Offensive honor, Harding’s Cory Batie earned the Defensive accolade and Southern Arkansas’ Austin Wilkerson claimed the Special Teams award.
GAC OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE WEEK – Richard Stammetti, Henderson State, QB, Sr., Las Vegas, Nevada
For the second-straight week, Stammetti threw for more than 300 yards as he amassed 396 in a 34-6 home victory against Southern Nazarene. Two of his receivers reached the 100-yard mark and a third, Doug Johnson, tallied 96. Through two weeks, Stammetti ranks third in Division II in passing yards (753) and passing touchdowns (seven).
GAC DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE WEEK – Cory Batie, Harding, CB, Jr., Troy, Alabama
Batie registered two of the six longest interception returns in school history as he recorded a 75-yard return for a touchdown and a 77-yard return that set up a field goal just before halftime in Harding’s 24-0 shutout against Arkansas-Monticello. The Bisons registered their first shutout against the Weevils in the 55-game history of the series.
GAC SPECIAL TEAMS PLAYER OF THE WEEK – Austin Wilkerson, Southern Arkansas, K, So., Dallas, Texas
Wilkerson converted the sixth-longest field goal in program history with a 48-yard try as time expired that gave the Muleriders a 30-28 victory against Oklahoma Baptist to extend their home winning streak to an NCAA Division II best 17. That make, a career long, came after he also connected on successful tries of 19 and 26 yards.
Brayden Brazeal, QB (Ouachita) Joshua Cornell, WR (Oklahoma Baptist), Hayden Mallory, QB (Southern Arkansas), Tyler Marr, QB (Southwestern Oklahoma State), Jacob Peyton, RB (Northwestern Oklahoma State), CJ Shavers, RB (Southeastern Oklahoma State), Drew Wade, WR (Arkansas Tech)
Jalen Carr, DB (Southwestern Oklahoma State), Dameyun McDonald, DL (Ouachita), Lavall McNulty, DE/LB (Arkansas Tech), Myles Russell, DB (Oklahoma Baptist), Conner Swope, LB (Southeastern Oklahoma State), Antonio Washington, DT (Southern Arkansas), Maurice Wright, LB (Northwestern Oklahoma State)
Jeremiah Baltrip, P (Southeastern Oklahoma State), Jake Ford, P (Ouachita), Cameron Scott, P (Harding), Jesus Zizumbo, K (Arkansas Tech)